PAT moves District and Session Judge for registration of FIR

Pakistan Awami Tehreek leaders Dr Raheeq Ahmad Abbasi, Basharat Aziz Jaspal, Fayyaz Warriach, Raja Nadeem had submitted an application for registration of First Information Report (FIR) regarding Model Town carnage in the presence of leaders of various political parties including PTI leader Ijaz Chaudhry, All-Pakistan Muslim League leader Naeem Tahir, Dr Amjad and Ahmad Raza Kasuri, Sunni Ittehad Council leader Sahibzada Hamid Raza, MQM leader Aamir Baloch, representatives of Awami Muslim League, Muslim League-Q, Jumiat Ahl-e-Hadith and minority leaders. But the police did not register any FIR due to fear of rulers and ill will.

On Friday, the leaders of these parties submitted an application with the District and Session judge Lahore against this illegal act of police, praying to the court to order the relevant police station to register FIR against those responsible for the Model Town tragedy. More than 50 senior lawyers appeared before the court at this occasion. The leading among them were Rana Ijaz Advocate (former provincial minister), Mansoor-ur-Rehman Afridi Advocate, Rafaqat Ali Kahlu Advocate, Fasih-ud-Din Chaudhry Advocate, Sardar Ghazanfar Khan Advocate, Iqbal Advocate, MH Shaheen Advocate, Zulifqar Chaudhry, Ishtiaq Chaudhry and others. Acting on the application, the honourable judge sought a reply from SHO Faisal Town on July 8 directing him to furnish reasons for not registering FIR.