Dr Raheeq Abbasi elected as President & Khurram Nawaz Gandapur as Secretary General of PAT

The last phase of the PAT elections concluded yesterday. Syed Amjad Ali Shah, Secretary of the intra-party elections, compiled the electoral results, which were announced by PAT chief Dr Muhammad Tahir-ul-Qadri himself on the occasion of All-Pakistan Workers Convention.

According to the announcement, Dr Raheeq Abbasi, Khurram Nawaz Gandapur, Sheikh Zahid Fayyaz, Qazi Faiz, Sajid Bhatti, Farah Naz, and Irfan Yousaf were elected the President, Secretary General, Nazim-e-Aala Tanzeemat, Secretary Information, Secretary Coordination, President Women Wing, and President MSM respectively.

The PAT chapters from across the country took part in the election process. 160 polling stations were set up under the supervision of 80 Returning Officers. Chairman of Supreme Council Dr Hassan Mohi-ud-Din Qadri oversaw the electoral process directly, while steering committee monitored the election in order to ensure its fair, free and transparent conduct. The workers up to the union council level were also given the right to vote for election of the central leadership.

Dr Hassan Mohi-ud-Din Qadri spoke at length about all phases of electoral process to ensure transparency of intra-party elections on the occasion of All-Pakistan Workers Convention. PAT chief Dr Tahir-ul-Qadri, Supreme Council Chairman Dr Hassan Mohi-ud-Din Qadri, and Dr Hussain Mohi-ud-Din Qadri have congratulated newly elected central PAT body on their election. The PAT chief also felicitated the members of Election Commission particularly Faiz-ur-Rehman Durrani, Brig. (r ) Iqbal Ahmad Khan, Amjad Ali Shah on successfully conducting the intra-party elections.